News

The Volume Will be Turned to “Fun:” The 2013 Out to Lunch Concert Series is Set

As the calendar flips to a bit more favorable climate, a Downtown Seattle summer favorite is set to return. The 2013 Out to Lunch Summer Concert Series kicks off July 10 in Downtown Seattle and continues through September 20 with a great variety of locations and musical stylings.

Produced by the Metropolitan Improvement District, in cooperation with the Downtown Seattle Association, the popular Out to Lunch Summer Concert Series – now in its 35th year – will showcase exciting local and national acts in free lunchtime concerts (noon – 1:30 p.m.) each Wednesday and Friday across Downtown Seattle.

flaming trumpetThe lineup consists of newcomers to the OTL scene, as well as familiar favorites.  Yes, as far as we know, the flaming trumpet (pictured at left) will make an appearance during the set of the Dusty 45s.  The series kicks off July 10th with another band that’s provided Downtown with a unique lunchtime soundtrack, Delhi 2 Dublin.

OTL venues stretch from Pioneer Square to Denny Triangle with 22 concerts in all. Concerts and other Downtown Seattle summer events will be featured on DowntownSeattle.com/Summer, which will be live on June 3, 2013.

Date

Venue

Band

Genre

Wednesday, July 10

Westlake Park

Delhi 2 Dublin

United Nations of   Rock ‘n’ Roll

Friday, July 12

Columbia Center

Pearl Django

Gypsy Jazz

Wednesday, July 17

Two Union Square

Mycle Wastman

Soulful Sounds from   “The Voice”

Friday, July 19

Occidental Square

Ayron Jones and The   Way

Raw, Soulful, Blues   Guitarist

Wednesday, July 24

Bank of America

Fifth Avenue Plaza

Zoe Muth and the Lost High Rollers

Cosmic Americana

Friday, July 26

Occidental Square

Dan Hicks and The   Hot Licks

Swing, Jazz, Folk   and Country

Wednesday, July 31

Metropolitan Park

The Gum

Crazy Retro Rock

Friday, August 2

Harbor Steps

LeRoy Bell

Rock & Soul

Wednesday, August 7

Columbia Center

The Daily Flash

Seattle’s Original   Alternative Rock Band

Friday, August 9

Harbor Steps

The Paperboys

Country, Folk,   Celtic, Bluegrass Rock

Wednesday, August   14

Two Union Square

Portland Cello   Project

Indie Orchestra

Friday, August 16

Harbor Steps

Dusty 45s

Twang Country, Jump   Blues, Pure Rock ‘n’ Roll

Wednesday, August   21

Two Union Square

Big Sandy and His   Fly-Rite Boys

American Roots,   Western Swing, Rockabilly

Friday, August 23

Waterfront Park

My Goodness

Power Rock Duo

Wednesday, August   28

Wells Fargo Center

Spencer Day

Pop Jazz Vocalist

Friday, August 30

Occidental Square

Clinton Fearon

Roots Reggae

Wednesday, Sept. 4

Waterfront Park

Baskery

Alt/Country/Punk   from Sweden

Friday, Sept.6

Bank of America

Fifth Avenue Plaza

Fremont Abbey   presents  Hannalee & Pepper Proud

New Acoustic Sounds

Wednesday, Sept. 11

Federal Courthouse

Stephen Kellogg

Impassioned Singer   Songwriter

Friday, Sept. 13

Freeway Park

Hey Marseilles

Orchestral Folk

Wednesday, Sept. 18

Federal Courthouse

Mango Son

Latin Salsa

Friday, Sept. 20

Westlake Park

March Fourth   Marching Band

Kaleidoscope of   Musical and Visual Energy